Award Categories

For the 2017 awards there will be 13 award categories, each one has been designed to recognise the achievements of individuals or projects who consistently demonstrate a commitment to excellence within their roles, their organisation and the wider sector. Each category will be judged by an independent panel consisting of professionals from across the housing industry, each of whom declares any conflict of interest. The awards are open to entrants from the whole of the UK and there is no cost to enter.

The 2017 categories are:

Most Effective Project in Improving the Lives of Women or Communities Award

This award recognises excellent projects- physical, social or economic- which positively enhance the lives of women or the well-being of communities. The judges are seeking projects led by women (staff, board, or community group members) which demonstrate impact. The nominees could be the project as a whole or a key individual such as the project manager. Examples include great design, estate regeneration & the achievement of sustainability objectives.

Excellence in Career Development Award

This award recognises leading edge initiatives introduced by organisations specifically to develop the careers of women employees. This can include coaching & mentoring, training, apprentice-ships, partnerships or internships; fast tracking or talent spotting; and/or strengthening areas of weakness in female recruitment. The judges will be looking at how an organisation has helped women to develop their career and has been able to positively impact the lives of women & communities by tackling exclusion, raising aspirations and enabling more women to thrive in under-represented areas such as governance.

Best Marketing & Promotional Campaign – New Homes Sales or Corporate Award

This award recognises excellence in those working in the marketing of shared ownership or outright sales homes or those involved in the creation of corporate marketing and/or promotional campaigns for their organisation which could include customer or community services or recruitment and/or training campaigns.

Young Achiever – Housing & Community Development Award

This award recognises the work of recruits to the sector and their work in delivering good quality homes and involving the whole community in planning and delivery, development or regeneration. The judges will be looking for an individual who can demonstrate their understanding of the housing sector, the wider needs of the community in which they work and how they have fully engaged with people. They should also demonstrate the positive outcomes for the community from the work they have undertaken.

Communications Professional of the Year Award


We are looking to award a talented individual who can show evidence using data insights, impressive strategic approaches and successfully putting their audience at the heart of the campaign.

Inspirational Male Role Model Award

Women in Housing celebrates many fabulous women for their impressive careers & achievements across the housing sector. This special award recognises that many women may owe their start in housing or the development of their career in housing to a male colleague or role model. We are asking women to nominate a man or men who supported them into a career in housing or who nurtured their talent in a way that helped the woman to grow & mature as a housing practitioner or leader. It may be someone who has inspired through the way they go about their work and how they communicate the message of equality.

Best Consultant Award

This award recognises the work of consultants who work in the affordable housing and construction sector and may include consultancies such as engineers, architects, surveyors, project managers, planners, marketing & sales and others who provide a service in either the development, management or selling of affordable housing. There is no requirement that individual applicant founded or owns the organisation in which she works. The award will be looking for an individual who has contributed towards the building and or the maintaining of strong lasting relationships with customers.

Best Apprentice/Trainee Award

This award recognises the achievement of new entrants to the housing sector. Those young women who have developed themselves & furthered their careers in housing through hard work & application; achieving formal qualification or working towards a formal qualification We want to hear about women who have taken on a craft apprenticeship or who are trainees in a housing or related professional field. We are particularly interested in hearing about women who have overcome personal difficulties or have challenged prejudice.

Best Community Leader/Unsung Hero Award

This Award is presented to an individual who works continuously and tirelessly behind the scenes, goes the extra mile with little recognition or has made an outstanding contribution. They will have shown selfless commitment to their role and improved the lives of the colleagues, organisations or communities they are part of. This award seeks to find those people who make the world go round for others yet never look for recognition of their work. This can include volunteers, who often make significant contributions without recompense or reward.

Leading Mentor / Coach Award

This award recognises an individual who offers guidance and inspiration to colleagues in their career, professional or personal issues and is willing to share their experience and knowledge with others. They can evidence the positive impact their support through coaching &/or mentoring has made to the individual mentee & to their organisation.

Most Effective Board Member Award

This award recognises the commitment, enthusiasm & drive of one of the many women who serve on boards or voluntary committees. The judges are looking for someone whose contribution to a board/committee has made a positive difference to their effectiveness and resulted in outstanding performance, exemplary governance and/or business growth.

Exemplary Housing Professional Award


This award recognises an individual, with a professional qualification in their field, who demonstrates an in-depth understanding and knowledge of the sector and whose input/advice has a positive impact for a client/company. Their commitment must be backed by clear personal & professional integrity & a desire to improve women’s lives

Landmark Achievement Award

This award will honour an individual whose career has spanned over 20 years within the social or commercial housing sector and who personifies the ethos of the awards. The winner will be chosen by an expert panel of judges who will be looking for an exemplary, inspirational and pioneering woman who has made a significant impact in the social or commercial housing sectors.